Noel Coward Sings Sail Away and Other Coward Rarities


For the first time on CD, here’s Noel Coward’s demo recordings for what eventually became Sail Away. Believe it or not some of these were recorded in India by Coward! There’s 26 delicious tracks of the master including two bonus tracks of Coward and director Joe Layton providing vocals. Some of the songs never made it into the finished show and these are their only recordings. This is a terrific album for Coward fans as well as Broadway collectors and aficionados. ​

Click “Add to Cart” now to purchase directly from Harbinger Records stock.

SKU: HCD 1701 Category:


NOËL COWARD SINGS SAIL AWAY is a significant release in tribute to the master songwriter/performer. The CD contains historically important (and hugely entertaining) recordings that have never before been heard. The major portion of the disc comprises Noël Coward singing his score for Sail Away, including many songs cut prior to the Broadway opening. In addition are extremely rare recordings Coward made in 1944 in Calcutta, India! The CD also includes excerpts from the demo of the unproduced show Later Than Spring, which was later adapted into Sail Away.

Part of Harbinger’s essential Songwriters Showcase Series, NOËL COWARD SINGS SAIL AWAY was unveiled in London at a special ceremony at the Drury Lane Theatre with the Queen Mother as the hostess.

Track Listing:

1 There Have Been Songs in England
2 Uncle Harry
3 I Wonder What Happened to Him?
4 I Wanted to Show You Paris
5 Family Dirge
6 Now I’m a Widow
7 Home
8 Reprise: I Wanted to Show You Paris
9 Come to Me
10 I Am No Good at Love
11 Sail Away
12 Where Shall I Find Him?
13 Beatnik Love Affair
14 Later Than Spring
15 The Passenger’s Always Right
16 Usseless Useful Phrases
17 This Is a Night for Lovers
18 The Customer’s Always Right
19 Something Very Strange
20 The Little Ones’ ABC
21 When You Want Me
22 Why Do the Wrong People Travel?
23 Time Is a Changing World
24 Bronxville Darby and Joan
25 This Is a Night for Lovers
26 Bronxville Darby and Joan


Click here to purchase from Amazon