The Music of Harold Arlen



  1. I Love a New Yorker
  2. My Shining Hour
  3. Come Rain or Come Shine
  4. Let’s Take a Walk Around the Block
  5. I Wonder What Became of Me?
  6. Can I Leave Off Wearin’ My Shoes?
  7. I Had Myself a True Love
  8. Fun to Be Fooled
  9. Happiness Is a Thing Called Joe
  10. Halloween
  11. Right as the Rain
  12. One for My Baby
  13. Hit the Road to Dreamland
  14. Moanin’ in the Morning
  15. Minuet
  16. You’re the Cure for What Ails Me
  17. It’s a New World
  18. Buds Won’t Bud
  19. I Never Has Seen Snow
  20. Evelina
  21. Last Night When We Were Young
  22. T’Morra’, T’Morra’
  23. House of Flowers Waltz
  24. Hooray for Love

Featuring Louise Carlyle, Bob Shaver, Warren Galjour, Miriam Burton, June Ericson and Harold Arlen
Musical direction and orchestral arrangements by Peter Matz

One of America’s greatest songwriters, Harold Arlen is celebrated in this stunning reissue. Available for the first time on CD, the recordings feature the composer himself singing and playing some of his most famous songs. An added bonus is the only recording by the legendary performer Miriam Burton, who sings a previously unrecorded song from the Broadway musical St. Louis Woman. Orchestrator Peter Matz, best known for Barbra Streisand’s first hit albums, is musical director, pianist and arranger. Louise CarlyleBob ShaverWarren Galjour and June Ericson complete the cast. Two LPs have been joined together to make this brilliant CD.

You may also be interested in other Harbinger reissues of Walden Records: Gershwin RaritiesLyrics by Ira GershwinMelodies of Jerome Kern, Songs by Cole Porter and Songs by Rodgers & Hart.

Listen to sample tracks and purchase at Amazon 

Purchase at iTunes